

STANISLAUS LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

MINUTES

January 24, 2018

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Bublak called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

A. Pledge of Allegiance to Flag. Chair Bublak led in the pledge of allegiance to the flag.

B. <u>Introduction of Commissioners and Staff</u>. Chair Bublak led in the introduction of the Commissioners and Staff.

Commissioners Present: Amy Bublak, Chair, City Member

Terry Withrow, Vice Chair, County Member

Tom Dunlop, City Member Jim DeMartini, County Member

Staff Present: Sara Lytle-Pinhey, Executive Officer

Javier Camarena, Assistant Executive Officer

Jennifer Goss, Commission Clerk Robert J. Taro, LAFCO Counsel

Commissioners Absent: Bill Berryhill, Public Member

Brad Hawn, Alternate Public Member Vito Chiesa, Alternate County Member Michael Van Winkle, Alternate City Member

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A. Minutes of the December 6, 2017 Meeting.

Motion by Commissioner Dunlop, seconded by Commissioner Withrow and carried with a 4-0 vote to approve the Minutes of the December 6, 2017 meeting by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Bublak, DeMartini, Dunlop, and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Berryhill, Chiesa, Hawn and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

4. CORRESPONDENCE

- A. Specific Correspondence.
- B. Informational Correspondence.
 - 2018 CALAFCO Events Calendar.
- C. "In the News"

5. DECLARATION OF CONFLICTS AND DISQUALIFICATIONS

None.

6. PUBLIC HEARINGS

A. POLICIES AND PROCEDURES UPDATE. The Commission will consider adopting an update to its Policies and Procedures document. The update affects Sections 4 and 7 of the document and includes several non-substantive changes, removal of outdated language, and minor clarifications to reflect new State laws. The update also includes the addition of Policy 15(a), outlining a recent change to State law that requires the Commission's review of certain fire protection contracts or agreements. The update is not considered a project for the purposes of the California Environmental Quality At (CEQA) pursuant to Section 15387(b)(2). (Staff Recommendation: Approve the update and adopt Resolution No. 2018-02.)

Sara Lytle-Pinhey, Executive Officer, presented the item with a recommendation of approval.

Chair Bublak opened the Public Hearing at 6:11 p.m.

Melissa DeSousa, Denair Fire Protection District, asked for clarification on Policy 15(a).

Chair Bublak closed the Public Hearing at 6:13 p.m.

Motion by Commissioner Dunlop, seconded by Commissioner DeMartini, and carried with a 4-0 vote approving Resolution No. 2018-02, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, Bublak, DeMartini, Dunlop and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: Hawn

Absent: Commissioners: Olsen and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

7. OTHER BUSINESS

A. <u>MID-YEAR BUDGET REPORT FOR FISCAL YEAR 2017-2018</u>. (Staff Recommendation: Receive and File Report.)

Sara Lytle-Pinhey, Executive Officer, presented the report to the Commission

Chair Bublak opened the Public Hearing at 6:15 p.m.

No comment.

Chair Bublak closed the Public Hearing at 6:15 p.m.

Motion by Commissioner Withrow, seconded by Commissioner Dunlop, and carried with a 4-0 vote to receive and file the Mid-Year Budget Report by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Bublak, DeMartini, Dunlop and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Berryhill, Chiesa, Hawn and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

B. ANNUAL ELECTION OF OFFICERS. (Staff Recommendation: Appoint a chairperson and vice-chairperson and adopt Resolution No. 2018-01a and 2018-01b.)

Chair Bublak asked for nominations for Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson and requested a separate vote for each.

Motion by Commissioner DeMartini, seconded by Commissioner Dunlop and carried with a 4-0 vote to approve Resolution No. 2018-01a to elect Commissioner Withrow as Chairperson by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Bublak, DeMartini, Dunlop and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Berryhill, Chiesa, Hawn and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

Motion by Commissioner Bublak, seconded by Commissioner Withrow and carried with a 4-0 vote to approve Resolution No. 2018-01b to elect Commissioner Dunlop as Vice-Chairperson by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Bublak, DeMartini, Dunlop and WIthrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Berryhill, Chiesa, Hawn and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

8. COMMISSIONER COMMENTS

None.

9. ADDITIONAL MATTERS AT THE DISCRETION OF THE CHAIRPERSON

None.

10. EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

- A. On the Horizon. The Executive Officer informed the Commission of the following:
 - Staff recommends canceling the February meeting.
 - The Oakdale Rural Fire Protection District annexation application is expected to come before the Commission in March.
 - Form 700's are due to the office by March 16.
 - Board of Supervisor Vito Chiesa has been assigned as Alternate County member.

11. ADJOURNMENT

A. The meeting was adjourned at 6:21 p.m.

SIGNED COPY ON FILE

Sara Lytle-Pinhey, Executive Officer