

STANISLAUS LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

MINUTES

January 22, 2020

1. CALL TO ORDER

Vice-Chair DeMartini called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

A. <u>Pledge of Allegiance to Flag</u>. Vice-Chair DeMartini led in the pledge of allegiance to the flag.

B. <u>Introduction of Commissioners and Staff.</u> Vice-Chair DeMartini led in the introduction of the Commissioners and Staff.

Commissioners Present: Jim DeMartini, Vice Chair, County Member

Terry Withrow, County Member Bill Berryhill, Public Member

Staff Present: Sara Lytle-Pinhey, Executive Officer

Javier Camarena, Assistant Executive Officer

Jennifer Vieira, Commission Clerk Alice Mimms, LAFCO Counsel

Commissioners Absent: Michael Van Winkle, Chair, City Member

Amy Bublak, City Member

Richard O'Brien, Alternate City Member Brad Hawn, Alternate Public Member Vito Chiesa, Alternate County Member

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A. Minutes of the December 4, 2019 Meeting.

Motion by Commissioner Berryhill, seconded by Commissioner Withrow and carried with a 3-0 vote to approve the Minutes of the December 4, 2019 meeting by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, DeMartini and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Bublak, Chiesa, Hawn, O'Brien and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

4. CORRESPONDENCE

A. Specific Correspondence.

None.

B. Informational Correspondence.

None.

C. "In the News"

5. DECLARATION OF CONFLICTS AND DISQUALIFICATIONS

None.

6. CONSENT ITEMS

A. <u>MID-YEAR BUDGET REPORT FOR FISCAL YEAR 2019-2020</u>. (Staff Recommendation: Receive and File Report.)

Motion by Commissioner Berryhill, seconded by Commissioner Withrow and carried with a 3-0 vote to receive and file the report, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, DeMartini, and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Bublak, Chiesa, Hawn, O'Brien and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

B. <u>ANNUAL CITY ANNEXATION SUMMARY.</u> (Staff Recommendation: Receive and File Report.)

Motion by Commissioner Berryhill, seconded by Commissioner Withrow and carried with a 3-0 vote to receive and file the report, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, DeMartini, and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Bublak, Chiesa, Hawn, O'Brien and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

C. MUNICIPAL SERVICE REVIEW NO. 2019-06 AND SPHERE OF INFLUENCE UPDATE NO. 2019-07 – DENAIR AND KEYES COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICTS. The Commission will consider the adoption of a Municipal Service Review (MSR) and Sphere of Influence (SOI) Update for the Denair and Keyes Community Services Districts. This item is exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) review pursuant to sections 15306 and 15061(b)(3). (Staff Recommendation: Approve the update and adopt Resolution No. 2019-22.)

Motion by Commissioner Berryhill, seconded by Commissioner Withrow and carried with a 3-0 vote to adopt Resolution No. 2019-22, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, DeMartini, and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Bublak, Chiesa, Hawn, O'Brien and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

7. PUBLIC HEARINGS

None.

8. OTHER BUSINESS

A. RESULTS OF THE PROTEST HEARING AND APPROVAL OF IMPARTIAL ANALYSIS FOR THE NORTHWEST NEWMAN PHASE I REORGANIZATION TO THE CITY OF NEWMAN. (Staff Recommendation: Authorize the Executive Officer to submit an impartial analysis for an election to be called by the City of Newman for the Northwest Newman Phase I Reorganization to the City of Newman.)

Motion by Commissioner Berryhill, seconded by Commissioner Withrow and carried with a 3-0 vote to authorize the Executive Officer to submit an impartial analysis for an election to be called by the City of Newman for the Northwest Newman Phase I Reorganization to the City of Newman, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, DeMartini, and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Bublak, Chiesa, Hawn, O'Brien and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

B. ANNUAL ELECTION OF OFFICERS. (Staff Recommendation: Appoint a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson and adopt Resolution No. 2020-01a and 2020-01b.)

Motion by Commissioner Withrow, seconded by Commissioner Berryhill and carried with a 3-0 vote to appoint Commissioner DeMartini for Chair, and Commissioner Berryhill as Vice-Chair, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, DeMartini, and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: None

Absent: Commissioners: Bublak, Chiesa, Hawn, O'Brien and Van Winkle

Abstention: Commissioners: None

9. COMMISSIONER COMMENTS

None.

10. ADDITIONAL MATTERS AT THE DISCRETION OF THE CHAIRPERSON

None.

11. EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

- A. On the Horizon. The Executive Officer informed the Commission of the following:
 - Staff is recommending canceling the February meeting as there are no public hearings scheduled.
 - The March meeting will have a Policies and Procedures update regarding some new legislation. Staff is also expecting an application for out-of-boundary sewer services from the City of Modesto for the west side of Modesto.

12. ADJOURNMENT

A. Vice-Chair DeMartini adjourned the meeting at 6:14 p.m.

Signed Copy On File

Sara Lytle-Pinhey, Executive Officer