

STANISLAUS LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

MINUTES

February 24, 2021

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair DeMartini called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

A. <u>Pledge of Allegiance to Flag</u>. Vice-Chair Berryhill led in the pledge of allegiance to the flag.

B. <u>Introduction of Commissioners and Staff</u>. Vice-Chair Berryhill led in the introduction of the Commissioners and Staff.

Commissioners Present: Bill Berryhill, Vice-Chair, Public Member

Amy Bublak, City Member Vito Chiesa, County Member Richard O'Brien, City Member Terry Withrow, County Member Brad Hawn, Alternate Public Member

Staff Present: Sara Lytle-Pinhey, Executive Officer

Javier Camarena, Assistant Executive Officer

Jennifer Vieira, Commission Clerk Alice Mimms, LAFCO Counsel

Commissioners Absent: Mani Grewal, Alternate County Member

Javier Lopez, Alternate City Member

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A. Minutes of the December 2, 2020 Meeting.

Motion by Commissioner Bublak, seconded by Commissioner O'Brien and carried with a 5-0 vote to approve the Minutes of the December 2, 2020 meeting by the following:

Aves: Commissioners: Berryhill, Bublak, Chiesa, O'Brien and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: Hawn

Absent: Commissioners: Grewal and Lopez

Abstention: Commissioners: None

4. CORRESPONDENCE

A. Specific Correspondence.

None.

- B. Informational Correspondence.
 - 1. 2021 CALAFCO Events Calendar.
 - 2. CALAFCO Member LAFCO Dues for Fiscal Year 2021-2022.
 - 3. CALAFCO Quarterly February 2021.
- C. "In the News."

5. DECLARATION OF CONFLICTS AND DISQUALIFICATIONS

None.

6. CONSENT ITEMS

A. MUNICIPAL SERVICE REVIEW NO. 2021-01 AND SPHERE OF INFLUENCE UPDATE NO. 2021-01 – DEL PUERTO, EASTIN, EL SOLYO AND OAK FLAT WATER DISTRICTS AND PATTERSON AND WEST STANISLAUS IRRIGATION DISTRICTS. The Commission will consider the adoption of a Municipal Service Review (MSR) and Sphere of Influence (SOI) Update for the Del Puerto, Eastin, El Solyo, and Oak Flat Water Districts and the Patterson and West Stanislaus Irrigation Districts. This item is exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) review pursuant to sections 15306 and 15061(b)(3). (Staff Recommendation: Approve the update and adopt Resolution No. 2021-02.)

Motion by Commissioner Bublak, seconded by Commissioner O'Brien and carried with a 5-0 vote to approve the update, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, Bublak, Chiesa, O'Brien and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: Hawn

Absent: Commissioners: Grewal and Lopez

Abstention: Commissioners: None

B. <u>MID-YEAR BUDGET REPORT FOR FISCAL YEAR 2020-2021</u>. (Staff Recommendation: Receive and File Report.)

Motion by Commissioner Bublak, seconded by Commissioner O'Brien and carried with a 5-0 vote to accept the report, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, Bublak, Chiesa, O'Brien and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: Hawn

Absent: Commissioners: Grewal and Lopez

Abstention: Commissioners: None

7. PUBLIC HEARING

None.

8. OTHER BUSINESS

A. ANNUAL ELECTION OF OFFICERS. (Staff Recommendation: Appoint a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson and adopt Resolution No. 2021-01a and 2021-01b.)

Motion by Commissioner O'Brien, seconded by Commissioner Chiesa and carried with a 5-0 vote to appoint Commissioner Bublak as Chairperson, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, Bublak, Chiesa, O'Brien and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: Hawn

Absent: Commissioners: Grewal and Lopez

Abstention: Commissioners: None

Motion by Commissioner Chiesa, seconded by Commissioner O'Brien and carried with a 5-0 vote to appoint Commissioner Withrow as Vice-Chairperson, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, Bublak, Chiesa, O'Brien and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: Hawn

Absent: Commissioners: Grewal and Lopez

Abstention: Commissioners: None

B. NOTICE OF EXPIRING TERMS FOR PUBLIC MEMBERS AND APPOINTMENT OF

A SUBCOMMITTEE. (Staff Recommendation: Direct Staff to initiate the Public Member recruitment process and appoint a subcommittee.)

Motion by Commissioner Chiesa, seconded by Commissioner O'Brien, and carried with a 5-0 vote to appoint the newly elected Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson as the sub-committee, by the following vote:

Ayes: Commissioners: Berryhill, Bublak, Chiesa, O'Brien and Withrow

Noes: Commissioners: None Ineligible: Commissioners: Hawn

Absent: Commissioners: Grewal and Lopez

Abstention: Commissioners: None

9. COMMISSIONER COMMENTS

Commissioner O'Brien complimented LAFCO Staff on their reports and word usage.

10. ADDITIONAL MATTERS AT THE DISCRETION OF THE CHAIRPERSON

None.

11. EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

- A. On the Horizon. The Executive Officer informed the Commission of the following:
 - New members appointed to the Commission include Mani Grewal as Alternate County member and Javier Lopez as Alternate City member.
 - There are three upcoming annexation applications scheduled for the Commission in the coming months.
 - Staff congratulated LAFCO legal counsel Alice Mimms on her upcoming retirement and thanked her for her service to LAFCO.

12. ADJOURNMENT

A. Vice-Chair Berryhill adjourned the meeting at 6:11 p.m.



Sara Lytle-Pinhey, Executive Officer

*Due to technical difficulties, a video recording of this meeting is not available.